Discussions By Condition: I cannot get a diagnosis.

Female, 31, with 2 month long fever, no diagnosis

Posted In: I cannot get a diagnosis. 0 Replies
  • Posted By: tjames423
  • July 9, 2010
  • 11:45 PM

I am a 31 year old female who, up until about 2 months ago, has been relatively healthy. I am including all available details of my illness below in an effort to find some answers. Thanks for taking the time to help!!

I have always had normal blood pressure and only get sick occasionally, usually with something that is going around my school since I am a teacher. I have no known medical conditions other than seasonal allergies. I am allergic to penicillin and very sensitive to steroids. I have a strong family history of autoimmune diseases (mother has Multiple Sclerosis, maternal uncle has Rheumatoid Arthritis, cousin has markers for scleroderma). There is also a family history of Polycystic kidney disease (maternal grandmother and uncle), and diabetes (both parents, both maternal grandparents, paternal grandmother). There is also a family history of cancer (paternal grandparents) and thyroid problems (mother and maternal grandmother)

May 18, 2010 After several days of extreme fatigue, sore throat, fever, headache, and stomach issues, I went to my doctor. At the doctors office I had a fever of 101.6. A strep test on tonsil swab was negative and I was diagnosed with an unknown virus and told to rest for a few days.

May 26 ,2010 The symptoms continued with no change from the week before, so I returned to the doctor. At the doctors office, I had a fever and my blood pressure was a little high. Since I have had mono twice (which is unusual), the doctor ordered blood work including CBC and mono test. All blood work was normal and the mono test showed a past infection but no current infection. The doctor again diagnosed a continual viral infection. Due to concern about family history, the doctor asked me to return for additional lab work after my fever went away.