Discussions By Condition: I cannot get a diagnosis.

Tired of hearing "It's all in your head"

Posted In: I cannot get a diagnosis. 4 Replies
  • Posted By: soccerkwolf12
  • November 5, 2008
  • 03:04 AM

I am a college student and was diagnosed with bipolar disoder, PTSD, panic disorder, and OCD a few years ago. I also have moebius syndrome and polycystic ovarian syndrome. Well about a year ago I started to have strange physical problems that don't seem to connect. It started with episodes of vertigo. Then I began to fall down for no real reason. I went to a doctor at that point after falling down at work one day. They sent me to a neurologist. They couldn't find an answer. Then more symptoms started to appear. I began to have tingling sensations in my hands and feet. At this point I now get them in my face and nose as well. I got a new prescription for glasses about 8 months ago. I was only able to read the board at school with them on. I haven't worn them for a couple months. I started school again in August and was surprised to discover I was able to read the board without my glasses even though I sat in the very back row. I had my vision tested the other day and my vision has worsened, according to the test. My vision in my left eye is 20/100 and 20/75 in my right. I can explain these test results as I cannot focus one eye alone. If I am looking at something with both, I can see it just fine. Cover one up and I can't read at all. I often get sharp pains in my wrists and fingers. My arm muscles are incredibly weak despite working out. I can barely hold my 15 lb nephew for 2 minutes. I will occasionally see halos or floaters. My memory is terrible now. I could be in the middle of doing something, stop for a minute, and then have no clue what I was doing. Or I forget big, important things.

I first thought it could be my meds but they have been changed several times since this all began. I have now been off all meds for 2 months. The symptoms are still there.