Discussions By Condition: Repiratory conditions

Chronic Tonsilitis

Posted In: Repiratory conditions 2 Replies
  • Posted By: Anonymous
  • August 6, 2006
  • 11:53 PM

I am new to this type of forum, so bear with me. I am 42 years old and have had severe throat pain for about six weeks or more one confirmed diagnosis of Strep Throat about 3 weeks ago. My tonsils are enlarged and blistered. I also have an enlarged gland below the left side of my jaw (it is really hard and not moveable). No fever. I am seeing an ENT on Wednesday. Is it typical to treat adults first before considering removal of tonsils. I have heard it is more difficult for adults. Anyone had experience with these symptoms. Thanks for your time. I am concerned. I had a thryoid ablation about a year ago and had these same symptoms last year and just thought it was thyroid related. Motrin is becoming a part of my daily diet and sometimes it doesn't even help. Thanks again. :)

Reply Flag this Discussion

2 Replies:

• I had chronic strep throat for about a year and when My family dr finally sent me to the ent he was dumbfounded as to why i have not seen a ENT dr. sooner. Two weeks after i saw this dr. he took my tonsil out and yes i was sore and Yes it Hurt like ***l but, I do not have sore throats anymore and feel so much better. Also the Dr. said he never seen tonsils as large as mine were if that gives you any clue as too how big mine were. :)
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies Flag this Response