Discussions By Condition: Infectious diseases

Scabies or Herpes? Or something else

Posted In: Infectious diseases 17 Replies
  • Posted By: Anonymous
  • February 12, 2007
  • 08:03 PM

My husband was diagnosed with genital herpes when he was younger. We resently had a daughter now 22 months and she and I both had an outbreak of some sort about 6 months ago. We were treated for scabies and all our conditions cleared. My husband had the same conditions but worse and was treated for scabies and it did not help. Could it be a really bad case of genital herpes left untreated? Why did the treatment help us and not him? I do not have any idea where we even would of contracted the scabies...
We are clueless, no one can help us, any suggestions? Anyone ever had herpes untreated?

Reply Flag this Discussion

17 Replies:

• I am not a doctor, but I think it's very difficult to mix up herpes and scabies. The areas most commonly affected by scabies are: webs between fingers and toes, the wrists, ankles, buttocks and in males, genitals. It is very unlikely the genitals to be the only site affected by mites. If herpes blisters left untreated they will be healed up in 7-10 day on their own. Scabies will not. The hallmark of scabies is intense itching, which is usually worse at night. Scabies are usually cured with 5% permethrin cream, which is left on skin overnight and then washed off. Although only one treatment is usually needed, sometimes a second treatment week later is required.Hope this helps.
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies Flag this Response