Discussions By Condition: Cardiovascular disease

dizzy,shakes,feeling of passing out

Posted In: Cardiovascular disease 9 Replies
  • Posted By: Tammy lay
  • January 17, 2007
  • 05:50 PM

My husband drinks a pot of coffee every morning, and if he doesn't eat right away he will get weak, start shaking and he feels like he will pass out, he gets regular check ups and he is in real good shape for his age.
As soon as he eats something he feels better,I was hoping it is not related to diabetes.
His mother was a diabetic she did not take insulin she just controlled it with her diet. She passed away a couple of years ago, after having both legs amputated she never recovered she had a staph infection.

Reply Flag this Discussion

9 Replies:

• Hello, I was poking around and saw this, and could really relate. I am by no means a medical expert, but the symptoms sounded exactly what happens with my 16 year old son.Now, he doesn't drink coffee, but likes his occasional soda. He is a very healthy kid, drinks a lot of water, eats well etc.Around age 10, he had a feinting episode. All sorts of tests later, he was fine, they couldn't find anything wrong and chalked it up to a fluke.Every now and then, especially if he does not eat in the morning, he will have an *episode* comes on really fast, shaking, cold clammy, sweating, and the feeling of passing out. As soon as he eats something, he perks right up. I was in the store last time this happened, and I had him sit down, I grabbed cookies and milk off the shelf, and within one cookie and a sip of milk he was back to normal.I was thinking diabetes! Or heart. We had both checked out, and nope. However, this doctor said that his sodium levels were very low, it is the only thing they saw out of the ordinary.The doctor asked how much water he drank per day, and we said quite a bit, around 9-12 water bottles. He said that actually, too much water can flush out the sodium, especially if you are not getting sodium from other sources.I h