Discussions By Condition: Mouth conditions

abscess?

Posted In: Mouth conditions 4 Replies
  • Posted By: breakfastsurreal
  • December 12, 2006
  • 03:29 AM

i think i have an abscess. I felt a bump in my mouth last night and touched it with a finger, and it POPPED! It was a blister with puss in it :( so I took a picture of the inside of my mouth and saw that my 2nd to last back molar is cracked. The only weird thing is I have no pain...so does that rule out abscess? Maybe it is nothing? The tooth crack worries me regardless so I am going to go to the dentist and have it looked at.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v480/breakfastsurreal/Photo293.jpg

Reply Flag this Discussion

4 Replies:

• An abscess is caused from bacteria invaiding the soft tissue inside the tooth when it is exposed to the outside environment. If your tooth has a crack in it and there was a bump on your gum this is an abscess. The fact that there is no pain is because the infection, or the dead white blood cells from the infection have been able to drain from the crack. The infection now has spread to the gum area around your tooth. If left untreated the infection can spread to the bottom of the root of the tooth and also infect the bone holding the tooth in place. I read all about this when I looked into google under tooth abscess and you can too. Go the the dentist and take care of your teeth.:rolleyes:
    Qaisqwe Broome 1 Replies
    • January 12, 2007
    • 08:03 AM
    Flag this Response
  • :mad: Danger, Danger! This is most serious, i've been through it & it must be dealt with immediately!! I don't know what time it is there, but anytime that there is an infection close to the brain, it must be taken care of. An oral surgeon told me to have the tooth removed pronto in order to "stop" the spread of infection. Please do not delay, by asking others for advice, just get her done. Good Luck! As Always In His Service.:eek:
    hogndog 426 Replies
    • January 16, 2007
    • 04:25 AM