Discussions By Condition: I cannot get a diagnosis.

annoying throat clearing

Posted In: I cannot get a diagnosis. 26 Replies
  • Posted By: Mily15
  • November 21, 2006
  • 04:15 AM

I have been clearing my throat for about 7 years now. I know that it is not simply a habit because it sometimes gets better (and sometimes worse). Also, if I force myself not to clear my throat when the need arises, the mucus simply accumulates and dries up, making it harder to breath.

I feel like I have mucus running from the back of my nose and accumulating at the back of my throat, but my nose is almost always dry. After I exercise, the mucus feels thicker and is harder to clear, making it difficult to breath at times. X-rays of my lungs show there is nothing wrong there. The mucus also becomes more abundant when the air is humid, or after I eat. Antacids do not work, nor does drinking milk and water (almost neutral pH) and avoiding foods like coffee and chocolate. I have tried allgery medicine, but that also failed to help. Nasal sprays give no results other than drying up my nose even more and causing nose bleeds.

Any ideas?

Reply Flag this Discussion

26 Replies:

• could it be acid reflux? does it get worse after you eat or when you lie down at night?
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies
    • November 21, 2006
    • 09:06 PM
    Flag this Response