Discussions By Condition: I cannot get a diagnosis.

Always tired! It's ruining my life! Long post but PLEASE HELP

Posted In: I cannot get a diagnosis. 0 Replies
  • Posted By: UncomfortablyNumb
  • October 19, 2007
  • 06:05 PM

I am going to write a lot, because I've been posting about this over dozens of boards for a decade now with no clear answers.

I would appreciate it if somebody please reads my entire post and gives me advice because this problem is ruining my marriage, career and academic record.

I just recently got insurance and will go get a blood test taken.

Here is my problem: I am 23, but I am always tired. I have been for the past 10 years at least. At first I didn't think much of it, because I was a straight A student and high school and early college didn't require much thinking to get through.

Later on I started becoming very interested in math and spent hours upon hours reading books non-stop. I did it by binge drinking soda. Caffeine does nothing for me, but sugar, especially fructose - let alone high fructose corn syrup - helped me retain what I read, and keep my focus. I excelled at my hobbies (mathematical ones, like programming).

One day I just decided to quit soda cold turkey along with caffeine. From that day on, I had no soda, coffee, tea, etc. Not on occasion, not ever. After about a week I noticed how exhausted and unable to focus I had become.

These symptoms became increasingly worse.. now here's the thing. I don't know if the symptoms getting worse caused me to avoid leaving my house and sleeping more, or if those things are the reason I became tired. I don't remember which came first.

For the past 3-4 years, i've been way too tired to keep up in school and at my job. I sit in class but I cannot keep up. my attention wanders off every 3-4 seconds (literally) and I cannot sit still. I am constantly yawning and get so bored that I feel like screaming and leaving the class.