Discussions By Condition: I cannot get a diagnosis.

living with a prolapsed uterus

Posted In: I cannot get a diagnosis. 7 Replies
  • Posted By: Anonymous
  • September 13, 2007
  • 08:30 PM

Hi! I've been trying to find information online about what you should not do when you have a uterine prolapse but apart from treatment (surgery or a pessary) and suggestions to loose weight and stop smoking, I can't find anything.
I have a second degree prolapse and of course don't want to make it worse. A friend told me that you can't run or jump or do vigorous arobics with a prolapsed uterus and so I've stopped doing any of these, but that makes keeping my weight at a managable level quite difficult.
I'm 30, so would like to stay fit if possible.
Do you have any help for me on this subject? Much appreciated.

Reply Flag this Discussion

7 Replies:

• You might try Kegel and butt squeeze exercises since the prolapse could be caused by weaked pelvis floor muscles. If it's the ligaments, well then good luck, because it's not going to get any better with time. Since your uterus has dropped, it could be pressing on your rectum and bladder and cause you future problems with constipation and peeing constantly. Why don't you want to have surgery? There are two operations that can preserve the uterus for childbirth. At least get a pessary.
    rad-skw 1,605 Replies
    • September 14, 2007
    • 10:30 AM
    Flag this Response
  • I haven't really considered surgery yet because it doesn't bother me. It's from having three natural deliveries and my doctor said pelvic exercises wont help at all :(. I mainly want to know if I can jog or if doing that will make it worse.
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies
    • September 14, 2007
    • 07:49 PM
    Flag this Response