Discussions By Condition: Skin conditions

Open Sore on Buttocks

Posted In: Skin conditions 6 Replies
  • Posted By: Anonymous
  • March 24, 2007
  • 05:33 PM

Periodically, I get an open sore on my left butt cheek. Always in the same spot. Starts as a red welt, turns into a bunch of fluid filled little bumps that looks like poison ivy, and then finally is an open sore. Hurts and itches!!!! What is this? Help.

Reply Flag this Discussion

6 Replies:

• I am no expert by any means and don't want to scare you but a close person to me gets these sort of lesions in that area and it took a long time for the doc to figure out that it was herpes. The best thing to do is get it checked out from a doc who will do tests to see exactly what it is before taking advice on any board. I would come here for support, but not a diagnosis. I'm sure that you could also find some pic's online too. Good luck!
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies Flag this Response
  • Sounds like the same thing which I have been getting for 12 or 13 years. The sore seems to appear at times of stress or when I eat a lot of garlic. I have always thought that it was herpes related or that it had something to do with C Hepatitis and a liver problem. I usually find that it goes away with cortisone ointment in a week or so. I seem to get the sore about 3 times a year.
    Anonymous 42,789 Replies
    • January 3, 2008
    • 04:25 AM
    Flag this Response
  • Sounds like the same thing which I have been getting for 12 or 13 years. The sore seems to appear at times of stress or when I eat a lot of garlic. I have always thought that it was herpes related or that it had something to do with C Hepatitis and a liver problem. I usually find that it goes away with cortisone ointment in a week or so. I seem to get the sore about 3 times a year.I get these sores periodiclly. My doctor diagnosed them as herpes. He prescribed "Aclovire" (sp). I take 5 capsules a day and the sores clear up in about 5 days.