Discussions By Condition: Kidney conditions

Stages of kidney disease

Posted In: Kidney conditions 0 Replies
  • Posted By: pkdcn2897
  • December 1, 2011
  • 02:55 AM

According to the K/DOQI Guidlines constituted by National Kidney Foundation (NKF) in 2002, Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) can be classified into five stages, which is quite significant for the treatment. The stages are measured by kidney functions instead of specific diagnosis, so Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR) is the most helpful measurement for this classification, and it refers to how well the kidney filter the blood.

GFR (mL/min/1.73m2)
Serum Creatinine(Scr)

Kidney damage with normal or ↑GFR

133-177μmol/L (1.6-2.0mg/dL)
Kidney damage with mild ↓GFR

186-142μmol/L (2.1-5.0mg/dL)
Moderate ↓GFR

451-707μmol/L (5.1-7.9mg/dL)
Severe ↓GFR

<15 (or Dialysis)
>707μmol/L (>8.0mg/dL)
Kidney failure

Chronic Kidney Disease is defined as either kidney damage or GFR<60mL/min/1.73m2 for ≥ 3months. Kidney damage is defined as pathologic abnormalities or markers of damage, including abnormalities in blood or urine tests or imaging studies. )

Reply Flag this Discussion
Thanks! A moderator will review your post and it will be live within the next 24 hours.

Signs of a Psoriasis Flare

Know the five types of psoriasis and how to spot flares.

How Diabetes Medications Affect Your Appetite

Newer diabetes treatments can suppress appetite and aid weight loss.

What to Do For Dry Mouth

Try these tips to get your salivary glands back into action.

The Painkiller – Constipation Connection

Constipation is a common side effect of opioid and narcotic pain medicines.

9 Signs of Sensitive Skin

Is it sensitive skin or something else?